Jun Bouterey-Ishido

jun-bouterey-ishido-crop
Jun (middle) plays with the Calvino Trio

2014 was a significant year for me. Firstly, it marked the end of my formal piano studies in Germany with my graduation from the Konzertexamen (Soloist diploma) programme in Stuttgart in February 2014. It also marked a new beginning with the first public concert of the Calvino Trio, only recently founded by myself and two fellow musicians. The trio has proven to be a source of inspiration as I seek not only to further my solo career but also to broaden my musical experience.

In September, the Trio commenced postgraduate chamber music studies at the Academy of Music, Basel, under the tutelage of musicians Rainer Schmidt (Hagen Quartet) and Anton Kernjak. Their instruction and our intensive work together has shown fantastic results with the Trio winning two chamber music competitions in quick succession; the Jeunesses Musicales Suisse in December, and the Orpheus competition in January. In March 2015, the Trio was sent to Portugal to represent the Academy at the chamber music festival “Harmos”.
In terms of solo work, a highlight of 2014 was a trip to Chile in April on the invitation of Edith Fischer ­ one of the most important disciples of Claudio Arrau. During a month of intensive work with Edith in Santiago, I also gave a public recital as part of the university’s concert series. Then, in September I was invited for the third time to participate in the “Open Chamber Music” sessions at Prussia Cove, England – where I was fortunate to have the opportunity to play in a trio with Adrian Brendel, as well as performing Ligeti’s Horn trio in one of the final concerts.
I was home in NZ briefly in February this year to play in Kerikeri and my home town Christchurch and hope to come back with the Calvino Trio in 2016. Meanwhile, following its competition wins, the Trio has several upcoming performances at music festivals in Switzerland this European summer in what promises to be another eventful year.
I would like to express my gratitude to the Anne Reid Memorial Trust for their invaluable and generous support, which has enabled me to pursue my overseas studies.